Bouquet and/or Centerpiece Origami Lily Flowers (progress)

So I was lurking around Offbeat Bride, as I often do, and decided to post an update about my finished 1,000 Origami Cranes.  A fellow member posted on my update and so I checked out her updates and saw the most lovely bouquet of origami lilies and fell in LOVE so I decided I had to try to make one!  I made a single lily and it was relatively easy and didn’t take a horribly long time so I decided to make a ton of multi-colors and see if I could at least use them in the centerpieces if they didn’t work out as a bouquet.  I’m still undecided on if they will be a bouquet(s) and/or centerpiece flowers, but I decided I’m going to make as many as possible and then decide later!

The "vase" is one of my unpainted centerpiece bottles that will be painted after it finally warms up outside!

These are still a work in progress and I want to add some leaves or vertical elements sticking out to give it a little more depth, but my fingers need a break from folding so I decided to blog about it now so I can feel a sense of accomplishment.

I folded the origami lilies then found some floral wire (I THINK 20 gauge, but I’d have to double check) that was in sticks and not a spool.  I poked the floral wire through the center of the lily and stuck a huge wad of hot glue on the end and then slid it down so the wad of hot glue is on the inside of the base of the lily.  Hm if anyone is interested, I may have to take some action photos since describing it probably doesn’t make much sense.  I wanted it to look as clean as possible so sticking hot glue on the inside made the most sense.  We’ll see if it actually holds up!

If you are trying to figure out what the flowers on the left are: they were created with pages of a Cat in the Hat book!

I had an old (not collectible old) Cat in the Hat book that was literally falling apart and ready to be thrown away so I decided to upcycle it.  I love the texture and color!  I’m thinking I’ll mix up the solid bright colors with the Cat in the Hat flowers.  I might also add some other old children’s books (Garage Sales and Second Hand Stores, here I come!) since it brings back a memory of our childhood and is a great way to add fun pictures and keep guests looking to see if they can recognize where the paper came from (okay, maybe only *i* would do something like that).

 

Hm and I guess since I’ve been posting price updates on pretty much every DIY project.. the floral wire cost $1 for 30 pieces at Walmart.  I used less than one pack for all these flowers.  The Origami Paper was $6.60 for 100 sheets but I didn’t use them all yet.  The Cat in the Hat book was free since I had it already.  Since I haven’t finished making all of these, I can’t do a total cost… but if you use paper you already have laying around and if you already have the hot glue, you can create these flowers for less than 4 cents each depending on where you buy the wire.  If you need short bouquets you can cut the wire in half and make twice as many, which would make the flowers cost less than 2 cents each to make.

Folding the Cat in the Hat flowers and gluing all of these on stems (the origami paper flowers were already folded from a few days ago) took me between 2 and 3 hours while watching tv and being distracted by my brat cat.  It’s definitely labor intensive, especially if I’m going to make these for all of our centerpieces, but I’m pretty happy with how they look so far.  I’ll have to figure out what I want to use as the vertical elements.

Leave a Reply

