Personalized napkins… DONE!

The personalized napkins are DONE!

For some reason I fell in love with personalized napkins and decided I HAD to have them at the wedding (see my previous post here.  Why?  Who knows.  I’ve only been to a handful of weddings and I couldn’t tell you anything about the napkins that were at any of them.  For some reason, I want people to remember my napkins!  … or I just thought it would be a fun and easy DIY project to add a little more personalization to the wedding.  Let’s go with the latter.

The stamp I purchased online (see info in the below cost breakdown) was 1.5” x 2” and was the perfect size to stick on a stamp pad so it made the stamping process quick and relatively painless.  If it would have been any larger I would have had a heck of a time getting ink on the stamp in a uniform fashion (I’m a total newbie when it comes to stamping so if it’s a large stamp I always have a line in the middle when I try to get the whole stamp).

I read quite a few articles about DIYing your own napkins and the consensus was to use StazOn ink.  I found some at Michael’s and decided to give it a go.  It worked like a charm and I couldn’t get the ink to smear after putting water on it and rubbing it.

We had just bought a nice large foldable table at Walmart which is perfect for crafts.  I decided to put a tablecloth on it and use it for my work bench.  If you’re going to do this project, I definitely recommend having a large work space!  This worked perfectly because I could lay out about 50 napkins (the amount in one pack) at once.

I had a ton of episodes of House on my DVR so I decided to just make it a House marathon and git ‘er done!  It took probably around 3-4 hours total but it could have gone faster if I did more stamping and less watching t.v. so if you really buckle down you could probably do this project in a couple of hours.  With help you could probably bang it out in less an hour!  What took the most amount of time was laying out the napkins and then stacking them up and wrapping them in plastic wrap for storage.  I stamped all 400 beverage napkins and 300 of the 600 dinner napkins.  I might do more of the dinner napkins, but I don’t think it’s really necessary because 300 napkins will probably be enough and we’ll have plain white ones if we need extra.  Maybe if I run out of things to do (HA!) then I’ll stamp the rest.

Getting ready to get my stamp on!

 

Blue beverage napkins

 

Orange beverage napkins

 

White dinner napkins

So… what was the cost?  Hella cheap!  Here’s the breakdown:

Stamp: Purchased online for $15 from Simon’s Stamps.  I created the design in Photoshop and sent them a JPG and it turned out PERFECT!  Not only that, but it was really quick.  I don’t remember exactly how long it took between ordering and receiving, but it was less than a week and probably more like 4 days.  Amazing.  If you need a personalized stamp, I definitely recommend using these guys.

Napkins:  Beverage napkins: around $15, Dinner napkins: FREE for me (mom works at a restaurant and was able to buy 600 for less than $10, not sure on exact price)

Ink pad: Around $5 thanks to Michael’s 40% off coupon

Total price: $15 + $15 + $5 = $35 and I have 400 beverage napkins and 600 dinner napkins (only stamped half of the dinner napkins.. I may finish the rest but only if I feel ambitious).   Which means they were 3.5 cents per napkin AFTER personalization… plus I still have a sweet stamp I’m going to stick on just about everything else wedding related and I have a lot of ink left in the ink pad.

Since my wedding is a little over 5 months away, I wrapped them back up in saran wrap so they will stay nice and clean and can be put into a box for storage.

This project was hella easy and not too time consuming so if you are considering trying it out, I say go for it!

(Quick update edit for price comparison, theknot is currently having their “napkin blowout” which is probably the cheapest you’ll find the personalized napkins.  They are on sale for $15.99 for 100, which makes them about 16 cents each.  While they probably look quite a bit nicer than my napkins, they are way more pricey!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 15:39:49

    Cute!!!! I love how economical these are!

    Reply

  2. weddingftw
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 15:41:23

    Thanks! I love how easy they were 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

