Alternative Guestbook Ideas

I’ve only given a little bit of thought to what my guestbook will be, but I know one thing for sure… that I want something more than just a book of signatures. Yes, it would be nice to know exactly who came to my wedding, but I also want people to leave something more. I’m thinking of somehow making a prompt for people to write more… such as to give us some tips for a happy marriage, advice, or their favorite memory of us… something other than just a signature! I also want a project that I can do myself and add a little personal flair.

Guestbook “clothesline”. Click image for source.

I like this idea: using a “clothesline” and having guests write out little notes and hanging it up. This would be pretty cool at the reception so guests can take time to think about what they want to say and have it in a more casual setting (I don’t like the pressure of coming up with something on the spot as you are standing in front of the guestbook with a line starting to form behind you). It’s very cute and unique! Also a format that would be easy to add to a scrapbook or photo album later.

An option with the above clothesline idea is to have pre-cut paper with prompted questions on it, to have them give advice, words of wisdom, their favorite memory of us, or draw a picture. It could turn out very unique and awesome and would give people something else to look at during the reception, so they could go around and read them all and look at everything.

Lego Guestbook. Click image for source.

If I decide to have a “normal” guestbook for guests to write their name, I think I need this one! Very unique and fun (and both fiance and I love legos!).

Painted “guestbook” project. Click image for source.

I like this idea as something fun for the guests to do, but I don’t know if I would use it to substitute a guestbook. It’s very cool though and would look really unique hanging at home!

 

Wishing wall. Click image for source.

I love this! It looks awesome and gives guests a little more privacy to write something personal without everyone at the wedding reading it. It would also look amazing hanging on a wall at home so we could pull out special wishes and read them again after the wedding if we need a little pick-me-up.

Puzzle pieces. Click image for source.

I like this idea, but it would probably end up tucked away in a box and never seen again after the wedding. A very fun and unique idea though!

Prompted guestbook pages. Click image for source.

I love the idea of giving guests prompts to write more, such as where do you see us in 5 years, words of wisdom, how did you meet us/how do you know us, qualities you like in us, advice for a happy marriage, etc. I think I need to incorporate this into our guestbook somehow.

Other ideas, that I need to find inspiration photos for if I decide to consider them:

  • A tablecloth or similar that people can take markers and draw/write on.
  • Write wishes and put them in little envelopes that are placed in a guestbook.
  • A photo-guestbook with photos of us and places for guests to write.
  • A photo-guestbook where people can place their photobooth images and write a note next to them (if I make a photobooth).
  • Have guest place notecards in a birdcage or similar.
  • Have a typewriter set up so guests can type up their wishes.
  • Have a wish tree where guests can write wishes (or similar) and put them on a tree branch with ribbon.
  • Separate little books that have prompts (such as, where do you see us in 5, 10, 50 years, when did you first meet us, etc.).
  • Cards placed in a vase (or bowl or similar).
  • File card for guests to write then file under their last name, alphabetically.
  • Mail box with old postcards where guests can write on the back and drop it in the mailbox.
  • Have guests write on a piece of fabric and then I will sew it into a quilt.
  • Take a wish, leave a wish (where we would write wishes in a jar that guests can pick up as they write wishes for us).
  • Place guestbooks on each table with a set of markers so guests can doodle, write well wishes, and not feel like they are hogging the book.
  • Have a way for guests to leave us some notes that we can save and open on our first anniversary.
  • Have a map where guests can put pins where they are from (although most of our guests are pretty local so it might be kinda lame).
  • A plate, photo frame, or similar that guests can sign with permanent marker.
  • Have a plank of wood (like a 2×12) and have guests sign/write notes and then incorporate it into a bench or something else that will be in our house after the wedding.
  • We could print off photos of us and have guests sign the back of them so we can hang them up as a mobile or similar so you can see our photos on one side and guest wishes on the back.

There are so many different options that it’s going to be tough to just pick one!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley Forster
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 18:20:47

    I saw your post and thought I would let you (and any other Brides out there who may be wondering…) know that UncommonGoods.com no longer sells the Wishing Wall. Apparently they ran out of stock.

    However, you can get very similar one in many different styles on Etsy now!
    Go to: http://www.etsy.com/shop/AgapeEyes

    I just bought mine from her this week and I am super excited! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sabrina
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 16:31:22

    Love all of your ideas! The clothesline is AWESOME!

    I fell in love with the idea of our guests writing little messages and tucking them inside tiny envelopes within the guest book. (Found it on Martha Stewart Weddings.) I had a pretty difficult time finding super small envelopes, though. In the end, however, I spent more than I wanted but ended up with a great book that will double as a wedding scrapbook afterwards. I’ll have to post some photos on my OBB profile or something! 🙂

    Reply

    • weddingftw
      Apr 30, 2011 @ 05:49:13

      The tiny envelopes are too cute! I saw those and thought they are awesome! I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do.

      Did you end up buying or making the small envelopes? I bought a Martha Stewart scoring board thing to make all of my invitation envelopes (it was easier than it sounds) so I could probably make the mini envelopes if I figured out the dimensions. Hmm… I might still go this route.

      Reply

  3. ajnikkijamesv5
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 13:20:47

    Great web-site from Rosella Wolfgramm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

