1000 Paper Cranes

Is folding 1000 paper cranes an insane idea or just awesome?  Since I have my heart set on making it happen, I guess we will find out!  I don’t remember where I first saw paper cranes incorporated into wedding decoration, but after I saw a few photos I decided I need to make it happen.

An ancient Japanese legend promises that anyone who folds a thousand origami cranes will be granted a wish by a crane, such as long life or recovery from illness or injury.  This is my excuse for why I want to try folding 1000 paper cranes.  Honestly, it looks awesome and fits in my DIY and small budget wedding.  The cranes can be used as decoration, especially if they are hanging from the altar or at the reception.

This is what made me fall in love with the cranes! Click on photo to see original source.

I love the colors! (from the same wedding as above)

I love how the cranes make for an amazing backdrop. Click on photo to see original source.

The cranes are hung from the altar. I love this idea and it looks AMAZING! I need to make sure I create some smaller cranes if I want to create something similar for my wedding. Click on image for source.

These cranes are placed in a vase as a decoration and it looks amazing! Click on image for source.

I brought this up to my step-mom last weekend and she had an amazing idea of getting together with my grandma, a couple of my aunts, and possibly a few more people around Thanksgiving and all sit around and fold the cranes together.  I love this idea for a few reasons, but the main reason is because it would be awesome to spend quality time with my family.  Not having to physically fold 1000 cranes myself is a close second.

I’m on the lookout for inexpensive brightly colored paper that I can purchase before Thanksgiving week so we can fold the cranes.  I looked at actual Origami Paper on Ebay and by doing a Google search and found amazing paper but everything I found is either too small, too expensive, or ships directly from China or Korea and I don’t have enough time for it to be shipped before we will be getting together.  I am thinking I may go with brightly colored 8 1/2″ x 11″ copy paper and cut it down to be 8 1/2″ square.  This gives me almost unlimited options on color and is a simple way to make sure the paper is large enough for everyone to fold.  I made a poorly assembled crane out of 8 1/2″ copy paper and it’s a good size and the paper was easy enough to fold.  I’ll be checking out Office Depot and all other local office supply stores to see if this is an affordable option.

Any ideas on the easiest way to cut down all of the copy paper aside from using an x-acto knife and ruler?  I’m not in the market to purchase a guillotine-style paper cutter since I don’t have the room and wouldn’t use it much after this project.

Leave a Reply

