Paper Lanterns and LED Throwies

I love being outdoors and since my wedding will be in July, it’s only natural to have at least part of the wedding outdoors. I was contemplating an outdoor ceremony, but being in Western Washington, the weather doesn’t always cooperate and it would be a lot easier to deal with rain on the reception than on the ceremony. I haven’t nailed down the reception location yet due to finding a place that meets all of our needs, but I’m looking into city parks where there will hopefully be electricity and some sort of picnic shelters so there’s a bit of cover if it does rain. The reception will likely start late afternoon and go into the night, so I’ve started thinking about what we will do for lighting. We will probably need some additional lighting so people can see what they’re doing, but I also want some accent lighting that has a bit of a wow-factor.

I recently discovered that I love paper lanterns, especially the brightly colored ones, and want to incorporate them into our reception if possible. Depending on the reception location, I may or may not be able to hang things from any picnic shelter structures, but there’s also the option of hanging things in any possible trees that are nearby.

Colored LED Throwies in action!

Since the reception will continue into the evening, it would be awesome if the paper lanterns were lit up and glowed. Since I’m not sure what the power options will be on the reception and I don’t want tons of cords strung between the paper lanterns, we can add LED throwies inside of the paper lanterns. I’ve copied some photos below of examples of where other people have used these. It looks awesome and simple enough to make ourselves!

Via Weddingbee’s Mrs. Tiramisu

Source

Source

Source

Check out that last Source link, they posted examples of other Paper Lanterns in action.

I am loving this idea!  Hopefully we can make it work with the venue.

Leave a Reply

